From tumblr, the land of images divorced from their 4chan roots  This cat is an excellent representation of my mood today, right down to the succinct expression of “What the Fuck” – ery.  As in, I am a cat, why am I in the air?  If I am wonderful enough to have wings and a halo, why am I being personhandled in this manner?  Also, I know where you sleep, and if you really think your sock drawer is safe from my predations, you… probably wouldn’t have hung me from the ceiling.  As soon as I develop opposable thumbs, there will be a reckoning.  Until then, there had better be tuna.

Which is a long and rambling analogy I no longer have the will to explain.  Suffice it to say, I feel like it appears to me that this cat feels, insofar as I can conceive of what feels a cat experiences.

*     *     *     *     *

The next installment of letters unsent will be forthcoming.  The last one hit a level of vulnerability that I, quite frankly, normally avoid like the plague.  The next one is a bit daunting for that very same reason.  But, I chose to do the thing for reasons, and I will see it through.  Just probably rather more slowly than you might have thought.

*     *     *     *     *

I went to church for the first time in a great while this past Sunday.  Mom used her mom-ly wiles to convince me to join them because they needed sopranos.  Which made about as much sense to me as having a shortage of flutes in a school band, but lo, she was not exaggerating in the least.  Compared to about eight altos, and a reasonable portion of tenor and bass, they had all of TWO sopranos.

It’s a lovely church with many very nice people that is still a really damn far drive for a Sunday morning.  Farmington is a lovely place that is not entirely real at 8 o’clock on Sunday morning, especially after my usual Saturday exploits, wherein I do as little as possible, stay in my pajamas, and play video games until really rather later than I should.

*     *     *     *     *

When entering someone in to my database, if they live in-state, I have to add which county they live in.  I use a little site called the Michigan Gazetteer – which is a word that is very strange to say repeatedly, especially in the privacy of your head.  Anyway, I had to look up Reed City, which is in Osceola County.  What I would like to know, Reed City, is why, when you have a land area of 2.1 miles, and a population of 2,300 people, you have a street named 175th?  Surely you do not have so meany streets that you can’t be bothered to name them?

And before you tell me, I realize that they are probably too small to name streets, and just go with what someone else, probably the county,  named them.  It still sounds silly to me.

*     *     *     *     *

TheKitchn linked to an an article in defense of greed which is an interesting read.  Relatedly, Nigella Lawson was on NPR yesterday, and every time I hear an interview with her, or see her on TV, I’m reminded of how much I like her.  I don’t necessarily think we would get along, when it came right down to it, but I like her style, and her unapologetic nature.

Leave a Reply

